Award-winning Book (My 1st Read for the Year)

We read to know we are not alone.

-C.S Lewis

read-and-the-more-places-you-will-go

 

If we could plan for the next minute, next hour, next day, next month or the next year we could come up with picture perfect ideas and resolutions. However despite the next unknown being void of mistakes and perfectly unstained there’s just so much that we never plan for but we get to deal with along the way. That said, earlier in the year I made a Time resolution that I have been very intentional in keeping. If you missed that you can check it out My One Resolution!

 

Some aspects of my life are yet to feel my time resolution but other aspects have had the pleasure to see me try. Awhile back and by that I mean 2 years back I was better on my reading game. Unfortunately life got busy and this became a very luxurious thing to do. I know, don’t judge. Carried away by this resolution I decided to ship in a number of books for the year and they recently got here and got a home at my place. Super excited about this by the way.

 

I just finished my 1st book ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul – My Resolution’. It is a compilation of 101 real stories by amazing authors sharing their resolutions on mind, body and wallet. Some are quite transforming and others simple like replacing some vocabularies for others. By the time I was reading this book it made feel more intentional and willing on my time resolution. Some resolutions seem small but others take phases to accomplish but it is in taking the first step that makes it a reality rather just a resolution on a journal. Am working on mine, are you?

chicken-soup-for-the-soul

 

Through this book I learnt that everyday may not be good but there’s something good everyday. Some days you can be all the sunshine and the only good thing that happens to a stranger so make it a point to at least smile at one stranger every day. We battle and complain a lot when we are expected to do something as compared to the will and commitment we give when we want to do something. In the words of John Dewey arriving at one goal is the starting point to another and sometimes if one dream should fall and break to a thousand pieces; never be afraid to pick one of those pieces up and begin again.

 

Mignon McLaughlin says every day of our lives we are on the verge of making those slight changes that would make all the difference. However sometimes we just need to have the will to get rid of the life we’ve planned so as to live a life that is waiting for us. Every short story was started by a quote, which I must admit made me look forward to just relate the stories and the quotes. Some of the beautiful quotes in the book that were quite beautiful and spoke to me are;

 

‘The road leading to a goal does not separate you from the destination; it is essentially a part of it.’

-Charles DeLint

 

‘Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between two deep breaths.’

-Etty Hillesum

 

‘We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.’

– Native American Proverb

 

‘A marriage is two people trying to dance a duet and two solos at the same time.’

-Anne Taylor Fleming.

 

‘We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen as much as we speak.’

-Epictetus

 

‘A friend accepts us as we are yet helps us to be what we should.’

-Anonymous

 

‘A diet is the penalty we pay for exceeding the feed limit.’

-Anonymous

 

‘The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.’

-Sylvia Plath

 

‘A ruffled mind makes a restless pillow.’

-Charlotte Bronte

 

It is an award-winning book and a New York Times best seller, I would strongly recommend for some good read. It took me 6 weeks to read it, I was hoping to be done in 4 weeks at most but at some point I tried reading two books at the same time hence taking longer. Am on my 2nd book and it is beautiful. I will definitely catch you all up once am done.

 

 

Trying is the start of commitment to do something. So do something about your resolutions!

 

 

Ask. Believe. Receive………..Go the Extra Mile.

4 thoughts on “Award-winning Book (My 1st Read for the Year)

Add yours

    1. Ndegwa,

      With all the Academic papers I know under your name…Yes. You should read more. I don’t need for school and higher levels. Just read to enjoy stories and be inspired. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  1. Lovely piece as always . . Thanks . . . Glad you are getting to keep this reading resolution . . We all should really . . And yes, not everyday may be good, but there’s something good everyday . . That’s deep!

    Like

    1. Hey Deda,

      You stopped by, Thank you for staying consistent. And not everyday is good but there’s always one good thing in a day. Yo just have to look hard and pay attention. There’s goodness all around. I hope you keeping your resolutions. I wouldn’t know them but I hope you trying.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

